Every state requires that an automobile owner carry a minimum of liability insurance. However, each state has its own requirements on how much coverage liability insurance provides. If you live in Pismo Beach, CA, Neff & Associates Insurance Services Inc is here to help you understand how much coverage you need.
Minimum liability coverage in California consists of the following:
- $15,000 for the death or injury of a person, up to $30,000 per accident
- $5,000 for damage you cause to someone else’s vehicle or other property with your vehicle
It is illegal to drive in the state of California without minimum liability coverage. Driving without it can lead to costly fines, suspension of your license, or even getting your car impounded. These are all consequences that can not only affect your wallet now but also your driving record which can affect your insurance rates in the future.
You must also be offered $15,000 per person for bodily injury to an uninsured motorist, up to $30,000 per accident. This helps cover costs if the other party of the accident is not carrying their own insurance. It is not required for you to add it to your policy, but you must sign a waiver if you choose not to.
It is a coverage you should consider carefully as one never knows who is on the road or whether they have the necessary insurance. If you are in an accident in which the other motorist does not have insurance and your vehicle is damaged, uninsured motorist coverage can help get your vehicle repaired and back on the road.
We here at Neff & Associates Insurance Services Inc want to help Pismo Beach, CA residents get the coverage you need. Stop by or give us a call today for your no-obligation quote!