Most vehicle owners either have a car loan or lease a vehicle. If you have either of these, you will be required to have complete coverage for your vehicle. It protects the vehicle which you don’t own at this point. But what about after you have paid off your loan? At Neff & Associates Insurance Services in Pismo Beach, CA, we know the law in California regarding personal vehicles and are happy to share that information with our customers.
In California, all drivers need to be covered by liability insurance, even if they don’t have a car loan. The required coverage is 15/30/5. That means in practical terms, $15,000 for coverage of medical expenses and other things for one person injured in an accident you are deemed responsible for. If more than one person is injured, the total paid out for injuries in one accident is $30,000. The amount for property damage is $5,000, which is very low no matter how you look at it.
This is what you must have. Is it what you should have? Only if you have no assets and an old beat-up vehicle that you won’t mind losing. If you are a person who uses their vehicle every day for activities necessary to their survival, you need to protect your vehicle. This means you need to have collision and comprehensive coverage which protects your car when it gets damaged.
Between these two types of coverage, you will be protected from a vehicle accident, theft, vandalism, and other damage from various weather events. If you need your vehicle, this is vital coverage.
Contact Neff & Associates Insurance Services in Pismo Beach, CA, when you need the latest information about automobile insurance.